complacent

31 Jan

Most mornings I groan about work, about wearing clothes when I really don’t feel like it, about looking at numbers all day when I feel in my soul I was made for something different entirely. But, I mean, I’m comfortable now. After almost four years I think I can say I know the ladies in the office pretty well. As far as people go, they’re all wonderful. And I like them. They understand that some days I don’t feel like talking, and that’s important to me. I know where all the office supplies are and who to see when I run out of Post-its. If I see them in the lunchroom when I’m making my morning tea, I can small talk with a few of the salespeople. For a while I think Lucas thought I could only say hi, but in the past two weeks we’ve had several four-sentence conversations. So while I’m comfortable and have grown complacent with my boring office job, I’ve also made great progress. I’d give myself a B+, and you know what? I’m okay with that.

One Response to “complacent”

  1. Rick February 1, 2015 at 10:07 am #

    Yep, Progress.

Leave a Reply

