ten things i hate about fireman

29 Jan

retroblog thursday

Tuesday, January 25th, 2005

10thingsihateaboutfireman

It was during my Teenagest Time Ever when I was super emotional about everything, and it all sucked. I never planned to tell Fireman that before stuffing a really sad (sad-sad, but mostly pathetic-sad) note in his locker about two months after we broke up, I transcribed it in my journal so that it could haunt me forever. Because we’d previously talked about liking the movie 10 Things I Hate About You, I thought it would be pretty dramatic and sweet of me to, in Kat’s style, list all the things I hated about him and end with a line about hating how I didn’t hate him. Not even a little bit. Not even at all. After reading it now, I realize things like “my bracelets” and “Purple Thursdays” aren’t really Things About Him. They’re just things that reminded me of him because we’d talked about them before, which I hated also. When we met up for smoothies in 2012, we talked about movies. He asked if I like 10 Things I Hate About You, and I was going to tell him that yes I do and I remember, I REMEMBER, that he likes it too. But I felt like I’d been given this wonderful gift, a memory in which my embarrassing letter did not exist, and I stopped myself from saying anything more than Yes. I do like that movie.

Leave a Reply

