music

28 Jan

The air conditioner in the office is acting up. It’s loud and cold and my jacket’s very thin. The tap tap tapping of fingers on keyboards is firm and pronounced by the presence of auditors in the conference room next door. We don’t feel like talking. I tuned my music player from yesterday’s punk rock nostalgia to something a little sweeter and, at the same time, quietly seething. Over my second mug of tea, I pored over a schedule of accounts and balances to reconcile errors I’d made the previous year. Can’t picture myself doing the same in the years to come without wanting to die, because this was only supposed to be a summer job, and now I can ten-key and calculate tax like a boring person. I took my time at lunch with the last of the veggie lasagna I made on Monday, and followed that with four pieces of chocolate and girl band counsel to feel strong again. In the last hour at work, I transitioned to an older, somber remorse for having been so hard. Smooth, sad, indie folk until 4:30, and back to raucous American grit for the drive home.

2 Responses to “music”

  1. Finding My Inner Zen January 28, 2015 at 6:15 pm #

    Sounds like my life. Beautifully written.

    • jenibo January 29, 2015 at 10:54 am #

      Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

