things to do at work

9 Nov

Not much at all to do at work today except make the little I can find last four times longer. Nibble on some kakimochi from a paper cup to make it more interesting. Highlight things, stamp things, transpose figures so meticulously, slowly, like it’s important. Like it really matters. Like someone’s going to see all of this and recognize the quality of a clear line, a sharp stamp, letters all of equal height. Zip up my jacket, tie my hair, take off my shoes, and sit cross-legged on my swiveling gray office chair like I’ll be here for a while. Because I’ll be here for a while. Fold my hands over the back of my neck and close my eyes for one second. One. Wish I was home. Wish it would snow. Wish it were dark and he and I were alone.

Leave a Reply

