on the ground

1 Nov

In the spirit of Halloween, still, I ate two cookies for breakfast this morning and felt especially sick when I decided I should start exercising again, turned on the giant fan, popped in the first Insanity DVD and tried to outdo myself in September after two grueling months of working up to it. I imagined myself in space, being the one of the fifty percent of astronauts struggling to keep her cookies, because something I heard in the first twenty-four minutes of a podcast in which Tom Hanks geeked out about NASA. And I did well. After my workout, I spread myself on the carpet in front of the fan and listened to Taylor Swift loudly on our home stereo system without moving except to stretch my lungs when certain lyrics needed to be yelled. It was emotional.

Leave a Reply

