you and your secrets

4 Oct

I lifted my hair and tied it, turned around to rest both palms on top of the Vornado so the stream of air flowed up my sleeves and into my shirt. My “Mellow Jams” playlist is only eight songs long and Adele’s “One And Only” is iffy and on the verge of being cut because the chorus is a little too hopeful and hardly encourages any kind of solitary wallow. My eyelids are heavy because a restless sleep and the kind of melancholy that settles in when it feels like everyone is keeping upsetting secrets.

I’m just tired, I think. Hot Fiance and I are going out tonight for dinner and a movie and I’m pretty confident he’ll tell me nice things and have helpful advice about being less upset with the world. He’s good at that, at being positive, and generally nice. I was nicer when I was younger.

2 Responses to “you and your secrets”

  1. vonholdt October 5, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    i love how you’ve captured the hair on these last two!

    • jenibo October 8, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

      Thank you! Drawing shiny hair is cathartic and relaxing.

Leave a Reply

