airshow from the roof

29 Sep

After the Nutter Butter happened, I went upstairs and out my brother’s window to sit with my family on the roof and watch the airshow. Across the bay, we could see stunt planes doing their thing and that was cool. But we were most looking forward to the Blue Angels. And the street was crowded with cars and people and my neighbors leaning on mailboxes, sitting on walls and lawn chairs on the tops of their homes. I like the excitement. I like the noise. I like being close to the sky and feeling free. I like the roar of the jets filling my body, reminding me of the kind of Happiness I’ve found four feet above a trampoline, on a ride at the State Fair, at a show surrounded by people singing the lines to my favorite songs.

Leave a Reply

