not a self-portrait

25 Sep

Let’s not look at this picture I drew this afternoon and intended to look nice and realistic and not disproportionate and amateur and so ugly that not even some photoshopped ice blue hair and eyeshadow can make up for the mess that was almost too-generous a self portrait inspired by the two and a half inches of hair I chopped off last night and became, instead, a blur of all the wrong colors, half-assed attention to detail, and a regular old ballpoint pen failing to add any meaningful depth to this catastrophe.ย  This isn’t me. Its face was inspired by my having a face and choppy hair and a side-part, I guess, but that’s not me.

I had a dream last night in which I went to a park with some friends at night to play a game that involved soft mushroom-shaped mouth guards and rubber bats. Nick said he noticed the park was always empty past seven so he made these games a weekly thing. I didn’t know how to play, but I was impressed with the equipment and his initiative.

16 Responses to “not a self-portrait”

  1. Waywardspirit September 25, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Her expression is intense, and knowing. I like it. I like her. Her blue hair is captivates me.
    I like your style.

    • jenibo September 26, 2012 at 7:40 am #

      Thank you!

      • Waywardspirit September 26, 2012 at 7:46 am #

        Can’t wait to see your next Not-a…..

      • Waywardspirit October 5, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

        Eager to feast my eyes agian.

  2. Simple Heart Girl September 25, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    If that is what you consider a bad drawing, I would hate to know what you might think of my horrid sketching abilities. I wish I could draw even half as well as you.

    • jenibo September 26, 2012 at 7:39 am #

      I bet you’re better than you think!

      • Simple Heart Girl September 26, 2012 at 7:51 am #

        No, really, I’m awful. My older brother is the one that got the sketching gene. It’s not to say that I didn’t try, but my Life Drawing classes at university were painful. Heh.

  3. lalasworldblog September 25, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    omg that is beautiful, not at all ugly.!! I love the blue, it looks very realistic. awesome work!!

    • jenibo September 26, 2012 at 7:39 am #

      You’re nice. Thanks for being so generous! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • lalasworldblog September 26, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

        thank you but I really meant what I wrote..

  4. jella millado (: September 26, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    Wow… you’re a good artist. (:

    • jenibo September 26, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      You are tooooooo kind. Really.

      • jella millado (: September 27, 2012 at 12:23 am #

        oh ^^ well, it really is pretty ๐Ÿ˜€
        i wish i could draw like that :OO

  5. Snakehair September 26, 2012 at 3:23 am #

    awesome! I like it! with the blue hair! Funny, I’ve been drawing lots of female faces lately too. And I wouldn’t consider them self portraits.. they’re cooler than me. (SOB) we live in a world where masterpiece is cooler than the artist aw drat.. might upload today

    • jenibo September 26, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      Haha. Thanks. And my drawing is already cooler than me, even though it’s not something I’m at all proud of!

  6. Spring Flowerchild September 26, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    This is actually a really good drawing. I like the expression and the eyes are great. I also like the tones and shadows. I know how you feel, though. i get frustrated trying to make things look realistic. You’re very close and you have a good hand, so keep at it.

Leave a Reply

