the house across the street

18 Sep

Just a few years ago, there was a peacock flying about the neighborhood, landing on rooftops, causing dogs in yards all around great distress. The people of our street stood outside together to point him out to each other and have a look at our visitor. We talked about how this happens occasionally. Like, we’ve had peacocks before, guys. Who hasn’t? And while we waited for it to come around from the back side of another house, we stood beside our neighbors with our binoculars and cameras like something so important was happening that we could talk to each other now. One of the girls gave me a sprig of chocolate mint she’d been growing right outside her front door in a pot I never knew was there. I knew it was ridiculous, but I was upset that I wasn’t made aware of this sooner. The chocolate mint or the rosemary, eggplants, and tomatoes she had in her little potted front-yard garden had been growing long enough to produce fruit, for her to suggest favorite ways to use what she’d grown. She said I should crush the mint and mix it into my butter. She said I’d like it, like she knew who I was when all I knew now was that she was a complete stranger living in the house across the street. I thanked her and said it sounded yummy and I’d mash it into my butter right away, but I took it into the house and left it on the kitchen counter until someone swept it off and into the trash can a few days later.

3 Responses to “the house across the street”

  1. kdunn5372 September 19, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    I love the drawing. It’s really good. Makes me wish I could draw. I can’t even draw stick people without them well looking like stupid lines. 🙂

    I have a question: What are you going to tell the girl when she asks you if you liked the mint in the butter?

  2. celiatillet September 21, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Love this. It’s so true to life: so many things end up in the trash when it would have been better to use them straight away.

    It’s like that story in Home Alone (remember that?) about the rollerskates. You have to use it when you have it!

    You know, this is the first blog post I’ve read all the way through for ages – well done for holding my obviously limited attention span!

    • jenibo September 21, 2012 at 10:27 am #

      I DO remember the rollerskates!

      And thanks for reading. I have a limited attention span too, so I can’t write long entries anyway.

Leave a Reply

