still frickin awesome

16 Sep

While I was feeling brave for no reason other than it being two A.M., I sent text messages to people I hadn’t spoken to in a while. Most of them didn’t have my number anymore and asked who I was, but I feel like Fireman was forced to remember me. In my message to him, I apologized for this blog. For there being so many unauthorized references to him. Unlike all those times post-breakup and still a teenager, I was older now and would not let his trite and stony response send me back to the most mortifying part of high school, slipping pages of my journal into his locker so he’d know how much I cared. So I was surprised when he responded kindly. But of course, he’d never seen my blog. Of course, he had no idea it even existed because even though we’re friends on Facebook and I post links to my entries every day, Fireman is too cool for the Internet. And then he asked for the URL, so I had to give it to him. But I also kind of wanted him to see that I’m probably better than he remembers me, and Hot Fiance thinks I’m pretty cool, and I swore once or twice in a blog entry when I said over the phone in 2004 when he totally wanted me to be his girlfriend that I would never do that. And then he responded to this entry in which I admitted to being frickin awesome and requested that if he ever read it, he’d go to Jamba Juice with me. So, we’re going next Saturday. This is weird. I hope I’m still awesome next week.

Look, I drew another girl today.

9 Responses to “still frickin awesome”

  1. moegerbyte September 16, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    You know what? This just popped up at my dashboard. But that story just totally sounds like something I’d do. Eagerly following now and reading the prequels 😀

    • jenibo September 16, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

      Thanks for following! And I’m glad I’m not alone. I should not be alone at 2am with a cellphone and such an extensive contact list either.

      • moegerbyte September 17, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

        Well, here in Sweden it was only 3:41pm when you answered (:
        AND. You’re never alone. *scary eyes* Someone’s watching you!

        Seriously, I’m reading your blog. And waiting for an update from a girl I have never met. Actually I just feel as if you were my dorm mate and we’d be chatting about trivialities. Isn’t that weird?!

      • jenibo September 17, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

        Not weird. I can relate. And I’m happy to be your pretend-dorm-mate.

  2. pomtee September 16, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    I love your posts! They are so eloquently done.

    • jenibo September 16, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

      I love your comment! Thank you for being so nice!

  3. kdunn5372 September 16, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    Aw, I think it’s kind of cute that he actually read you blog. I hope you have fun at Jamba Juice and it’s not so nerve wracking. 2 a.m. and a cell phone, plus boredom is never a good sign. 🙂

  4. Suzanne September 17, 2012 at 3:32 am #

    I’m loving your blog! So excited to read past entries.

    • jenibo September 17, 2012 at 7:47 am #

      I’m excited to have your viewership, Suzanne! Thank you for checking it out.

Leave a Reply

