he was fidgeting

12 Sep

Woke up this morning more tired than usual, so I closed my eyes to try to pull back my dreams and either determine why it kept me half-awake those past six hours or find a way to make it stay and be more important than sitting up, brushing my teeth, flattening the slightly-damp frizzy mess in the mirror, and having my sister drive me to work on time in her fancy new car. Found myself dressed and made up enough for the public in thirty or forty minutes, ate enough cereal to ward away nausea when I swallowed my pills, and packed some leftover chicken and spaghetti in a plastic bag for lunch.

Spent an hour downstairs as receptionist/cashier while one of the girls went to some kind of class or meeting. Dealing with money and customers used to freak me out, but I’m better now. Someone paid with a check today, and I kept calm as I ran it through the machine about ninety-four percent certain I was doing it right. Cash transactions are usually fifty-fifty. I am very bad with numbers. Took some time to sketch a customer in the waiting area. He was fidgety, and I feared he was wary of my looking so frustrated and intent every time he moved his legs, so I paid special attention the furniture surrounding him. The angles and dimensions are warped and inaccurate, but whatever.

4 Responses to “he was fidgeting”

  1. Matty September 13, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    First, Gregg-ruled notebooks, YEAH! Why should stenographers have all the fun? Second, I am jealous of your deluxe crosshatching styles. I think I forgot to leave a comment about the dress/boots combo from the other day, but I really liked that, too. I am coo-coo for crosshatching, and I don’t know why.

    • jenibo September 13, 2012 at 9:26 am #

      Haha. Yes. Gregg-ruled notebooks are strange. Anyway, it’s more scritch scratch than crosshatching, and your monkey drawings are way cooler. I’m super jealous, so I have never mentioned how much I like them. Also, also, also! Check it out! I’m on the Freshly Pressed page on WordPress!

      • Matty September 14, 2012 at 7:35 am #

        Is that like being featured? Where can I see that? Do you have a link?

  2. Roger Tharpe September 14, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    I find this artistry to be pleasant. A movement similar to the flash when he moves throughout walls.

Leave a Reply

