honey

27 Jul

I imagine that if I were to hang out with Suzanne and Ben, members of the band honeyhoney, I wouldn’t think very highly of myself. I’d be frustrated with my timidity, my lack of worldly knowledge, and my objection toward recreational drugs. I’d want them to think I’m cool, so I’d direct us toward the bar and hope they suggest something for me to drink because I don’t know the name of drinks. I only know that I can’t impress them with nine shots of Patron anymore, and I don’t like creamy flavors, and I haven’t tasted a beer I could finish. So I hope they won’t get a pitcher. Because I won’t drink it. And I won’t have enough alcohol in my blood to say whatever I want and not care so much about being cool, which would make me cool and fun and someone they’d think to hit up the next time they were in town. But if that doesn’t happen, if I never meet them and kiss them both on the lips like I said I would, I guess I’ll be fine listening to their album on the way home from work, idling the car in the driveway until the music calms or delights me so much that I can appreciate the silence until they’re with me again. With me in my ears, I mean. And not in some dark room with a banjo and a guitar, Joe Rogan, and the least innocent gummy bears I’d ever seen. Because there, I’d only be a lump in the corner, trying too hard to be accepted. Anyway. ANYWAY, that’s not what this is about. This is about my loving the music of honeyhoney and wanting only to hear it forever.

2 Responses to “honey”

  1. davin July 28, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    Maybe u should hang with honey boo boo child instead?

    • jenibo July 29, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      Hahaha. I had to look that up. The little girl scares me.

Leave a Reply

