bananas

23 Jul

I used to live someplace in the 96744 where there was a forest of banana trees in my backyard. I was young, so the forest was probably less a forest than I thought. Behind a fence, the trees stood amongst dirt, bugs, rotting leaves, and California grass, too dangerous to venture into. A litter of kittens was born just beyond the fence, and I would visit them early in the morning and right after getting home from school. I did my best to care for them, but like many of the kittens I looked after in the wild, one of them died and I mourned my loss from the top bunk in my room where I resented the fence, the scratchy grass, and the banana trees for not looking after my friends.

Leave a Reply

