ex-stuff

22 May

The episode of How I Met Your Mother entitled “Stuff” inspired me to look at my life and all the stuff I’ve accumulated from past relationships. I don’t have, like, five dogs from old boyfriends, but there are things. Things I don’t even notice anymore. There’s that picture frame on the top of my bookshelf with romantic 8th grade graduation pictures hidden behind completely non-romantic high school graduation pictures. And does that even count anymore? I have one of my favorite movies on DVD because of another boyfriend, and every once in a while when I watch it, I can’t help but think fondly of him just because I love the movie. So much. I also remember finding the DVD in my locker with a note tucked neatly inside the case, but our breakup wasn’t terrible and we remained close, so now it’s just a thoughtful gift from a friend whose hand I journaled extensively about holding one summer day. I have a pair of shorts from another boyfriend. That one kind of sickens me, but until I took them from him, they were the most comfortable piece of clothing I had to sleep in. They’re old and even more faded than they were a few years ago, but I still wear them, especially when I have my period and just need something with a soft elastic waistband.
But none of thatreally matters, right? I mean, I love Daniel and all of his even-more-comfortable t-shirts I have to sleep in and if any of it bothered him, he would let me know. So I have Stuff. So what.

3 Responses to “ex-stuff”

  1. Wendy May 23, 2012 at 5:49 am #

    As long as its not jewelry that you still wear, who cares? Lol although I can count on one hand everything that I still have from an ex-boyfriend. Only a DVD randy bought me.. I got rid of everything that was John’s as soon as it was over and Travis never gave me anything but the necklace and ring which he took back in the end. Hahahaha!

  2. davin May 23, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    I like that episode!

    • jenibo May 24, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

      I didn’t know you watch this show! Don’t tell me what happens. I’m only on season 3. 🙂

Leave a Reply

