be my friend

5 Apr

Sometimes I wonder whether the people I care about should know how I feel or if it’s better they don’t. When I know the feeling is mutual, it’s nice, and we can tell each other how much we like each other. But if I care about a girl who edited my stories in a creative writing class in college and who I never really talked to, I’m almost certain that my telling her how much I want to be her friend would violate a number of social orders. And I can’t exactly ask the older boys in my life to be more like the big brother I’d always wanted. That might be creepy.
According to my mom, when I was very young, instead of imaginary friends, I had two imaginary brothers–older boys–named Jonathan and Mon. I know that Jonathan was most likely influenced by Sally’s brother Jonathan in Wee Sing Together, but I have no idea where Mon came from. Or where he went, for that matter. Anyway, I’d always imagined my older siblings to be white, ashy-haired boys. In retrospect, this was probably a prophecy*. Like that dream I had in sixth grade that told me I’d find my lost wallet under the bed.
In summary, I’m creepy and psychic.

*Writer’s note: There seem to be so few words with a neutral or positive connotation when it comes to foreshadowing, omens, or premonitions. Prophecy wasn’t my first choice, so you know. But if I called it a foreshadowing, you would have heard ominous music in the background.

2 Responses to “be my friend”

  1. Wendy April 5, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    You know, sometimes all you have to do is make the first move. For example, Allen and I became friends in college. Also I made a friend thru my online speech class! Never met her in person (but I saw her speeches so I know what she looks like and vice versa) but we email each other and keep in touch even after the class finished. Sometimes you find friends in the oddest places 🙂 just be open and friendly 🙂

  2. Wendy April 5, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    I think if I didn’t have the balls to volunteer for team leader, I would have never made friends with her. LOL

Leave a Reply

