something to someone

26 Mar

Some time soon, (or tonight if I get an exceptional number of responses in the form of “likes” or comments, which I don’t expect or care to wish for, so don’t feel bad Just Reading) I will post my story here. I have a lot to say about it. Kind of. I mean, there are reasons for it sucking, and I think I know most of them. And I will feel better if I tell you about them before you try to tell me how it could have been better. Because, I’m aware. But I don’t want to point out all its flaws if you wouldn’t have noticed it yourself. See? Now I don’t know what to do.
In eighth grade, I wrote a story that won a first place award in a contest with entrants from all over the state. Winning was amazing. I didn’t like my story, but when the principal read it aloud after chapel in front of the entire school, I embarrassed and I still hated it, but I realized that someone thought it was good enough to win, to be read aloud, and to be heard by all of my peers. Because of that someone, I was Someone and my story was Something.
For a little while, I wanted my crappy story to be published by a person whose mind I admired because it to be Something to someone. But I can appreciate her decision now, because I really want to like what I expect other people to like.
So, when you read my story, don’t expect to like it. Expect to be disappointed, and don’t be surprised when your disappointment does not morph into a raving review. I completely understand. I just want to put the story out there already, because it’s burning a hole on my desktop.

2 Responses to “something to someone”

  1. Wendy March 26, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

    You over think things. That’s why we are similar LOL

  2. Matty March 27, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    Jen, whether or not anyone likes something you’ve done, it’s still Something and you’re still Someone. Your own value is inherent and completely independent from your work, so you never need to explain or apologize for any creative thing you do. It’s just one thing in a series of things. No big deal!

    Also, *hooray*, we get to read your story! 🙂

Leave a Reply

