grownupish

15 Feb

Today I went to work and nothing special happened. I sat there and I typed things. For an hour, I was on the road in a company car. I ran some errands and felt responsible. I handled paperwork and money, and for a little while, felt capable of being a grownup. But I realized during the drive back to work that I was comfortable doing what I did because I’d done it so many times before. I don’t take different routes. I change lanes early. I have instructions, and I follow them. But it was nice to feel that I looked like being grownupish ain’t no thang. Here is a picture I took on my way to Kailua when I was happy and confident, and when I had a mission I knew I could complete.

The sun is behind those clouds. It looks like some kind of metaphor for something, but I never intended it to be. That’s corny. And I realize that most of the photos I’ve been taking are from the inside of a moving car, but I have photography anxieties, and the inside of a car is where I feel okay about holding up my camera (well, my phone) and taking pictures of things I find pretty that others might not think is so pretty, because I will drive away soon and the tint of the windows makes it difficult to see my face and judge it and the person to whom it belongs. Basically–I am not a photographer, and I don’t want strangers thinking I think I am.

2 Responses to “grownupish”

  1. wendy February 15, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Don’t get caught by the popos! haha

    • jenibo February 15, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

      Haha. I am careful. ;]

Leave a Reply

