i could be the eye of your storm

25 Jan

For about an hour this morning, the power was out at work. It was dark, but we have windows to let the sunlight in. So, there’s that. When the power came back on, it took several more hours to get the computer systems running, so there was a lot of time to sit and think. I thought about going home. And if I was allowed, what would I do? I thought about going shopping. But, I don’t know how to do that. I thought about the way I always want power outages to last longer. Because they’re exciting. They aren’t normal. And people just feel different in the dark. Heh. I thought about how thirsty I was. And about the Snapple Daniel bought for me on Monday. I could have gone for another. On my twenty-first birthday, there was an island-wide blackout on Oahu. It lasted for over twenty-four hours at my house in Kaneohe, and other places, even longer. It was fantastic.

Tomorrow is Thursday. I should work on my story. I have an ending, and it is attached. All that’s left to do now is clean it up. I’m not happy with my story. Thinking of it actually, sort of, depresses me. I wanted it to be GOOD. Like, I-know-I-said-it-sucks-but-it’s-actually-pretty-good kind of good. But I mean it! It’s BAD. And I know it. And I’d be ashamed to show it to anyone. I’m embarrassed for the Emmy, too. She’s the main character, and she has been bad. She’s sick. She probably shouldn’t have told me what she’s done. I wish she was better. And not so dumb and sappy. I wish she didn’t try so hard to be profound. If I was profound in any way, it was an accident. But Emmy has no excuses. If that’s even her name!

3 Responses to “i could be the eye of your storm”

  1. candlelightwriter January 25, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Dark is when good things happen, especially creative ones. Sincerest best wishes for that ending, and regards to Emmy (if, as you say, that’s even her name).

  2. angela January 25, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    I think of your power-outage as one of my attempts to escape reality in the morning sipping hot tea-alone-in the dark. It is there I feel connected, but not sure to what, because I have never been connected to anything.Still the best part of any day!

  3. Chris Kimoto January 26, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    how bout u put it in a box..and read it a couple of months later..you may be surprised by how much u like it :P?

Leave a Reply

