a wet world aches for a beat of a drum

7 Jan

I just got home after a long day at work, and I am hungry. That’s pretty much it. I can’t think of much else besides food now. When Daniel gets home from work in half an hour, we’re going out to eat! I like this. I like going out with my best friend. Being comfortable. Having a whole day’s worth of things to talk about. And eating. At the same time.

When we go to restaurants together, just the two of us, I like to eat slow enough to let the night last for a while longer. I like to be in a corner booth. Somewhere I don’t feel pressured to hurry up and leave. I like the food to be hot. And I like to hope to stay hungry enough to eat dessert. People who eat dessert seem calmer and happier. Or maybe that’s just me.

Things are getting mushy now. I’ve been gushing over Daniel and warm food, and you’re feeling uncomfortable. Do you want to talk about something else? Zombies? Someone recently asked about my zombie plan. I thought it would be best to join them. And if it’s not best, it is easiest. And less scary. And most of the time, that seems best anyway.

I added a few lines to my story last night. I’m not sure if I’ll finish at this pace, so I’ll have to sit down one day and  forcefully shove words out of my brain. It will hurt. I just know. But it will be good. I wish I could show you all what I have so far. I want to know what you think. I really want to know. But I’m at a weird place right now in my story, and without an eloquent conclusion, I can’t bear to let you read the mess before it. I have a plan, though. I rarely have a plan, so this is a nice change. The last time I had a plan, I finished writing Gazebo. It’s not very good, but it’s the short story I hate the least. So, I’m hopeful at best.

One Response to “a wet world aches for a beat of a drum”

  1. Zombie Plan? January 7, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    I’m glad you decided to join me. I knew if nothing else I should save you from your self destructive methods of coping with society crumbling disasters. I seem to of succeeded.

Leave a Reply

