the eagerness of it

22 Nov

Last night I went to bed early because I was exhausted from a ten-hour headache and my skin hurt because I was so cold. Daniel came over after work. It was late and I was lying in bed under the covers with Zuko on top to provide extra warmth for my feet. My Christmas lights were on, because I thought the light would keep me awake, but I was drifting toward my dreams when Daniel said good night. He kissed me on my forehead, told me he’d see me in the morning, turned off my lights, and closed my door. I listened at the window to hear his car drive away, and then I slept. I try to remember moments like these so if I ever doubt that Daniel is the one I should be with, I’ll have evidence of a time when I knew there was no other.

THAT was sappy. I apologize. I’ve been feeling weird. On Saturday, we went to see “Like Crazy” and my tendency to internalize other people’s feelings (even the feelings of fictional characters) left me extremely depressed about a long distance relationship I am not a part of. All the gloominess has helped me to appreciate the little things that make me happy. Like Christmas lights and forehead kisses and cats sleeping on my feet.

That’s all, I guess. Thanksgiving is this week and I may feel the need to write a holiday-themed blog entry. Just don’t count on it. I like to keep my options open.

 

One Response to “the eagerness of it”

  1. Bryant Komo November 23, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    I can tell you about long distance relationships. They only make it seem depressing in the movies to help boost the economy of the travel industry. Subliminal messaging.

Leave a Reply

