save the brightest one for you

30 Aug

I was sitting up in bed trying to think of what to blog about when my brother poked his head into my room.
“Jen, that was one of my favorite stories.”
I asked what he was talking about, and he referred to the ten-page paper I wrote about my work in the library. That was nice of him. It was really nice, considering most of what we say to each other is sarcastic. He doesn’t read this blog, but he knows I write in it every day. When I was bragging about how I was a published writer, I sent him the link to my paper on Facebook and told him not to read it.
So he read it, and he liked it. I feel happy.

Anyway, since BEDA will be over in a day, I want to take this time to thank you all for hanging out this month. It means SO MUCH that you care enough to read anything I’ve written. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I hope reading has been enjoyable and not a tired obligation. If you have felt obligated, it is super easy to quit following a blog. Just sayin’.

Before you go, I request that you answer one itty-bitty question. Why do you read my blog? I’m not fishing for compliments. I am just really, really curious about life and the people in mine. I read Hayley G. Hoover’s blog because she is smart and funny, and she can construct sentences that are grammatically correct. I like that I can relate to her feelings about Twilight and Algebra, and that she loves Harry Potter. I also really enjoy the videos she posts on YouTube.

There. Now it’s your turn.

5 Responses to “save the brightest one for you”

  1. indyink August 30, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    I honestly read your blog because it popped up on my Readomattic. I have it set to catch the tag for “relationships.” Also, I thought your title was one of the most beautiful of any post I’ve seen on WordPress. 🙂

    • jenibo August 30, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

      Aw, thanks! I’m glad you are not a spam bot! I wish I could take credit for the title, but it is just a line from a song by Amber Pacific. I do like it, though.

  2. Matty August 31, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    I read your blog because you’re interesting and I like reading about your weird dreams. I also think you have a funky-fresh perspective on modern life.

    Sometimes you do a hand-drawn blog post, which is amazing, and sometimes I can relate to you what you’re talking about, but other times I have *no idea* what you’re talking about. Either way it’s unique and fun to read. Do BEDA again next year!!!

    • jenibo August 31, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks Matty! You always have such nice things to say. Thanks also for reminding me to BEDA. It has been fun.

      I hope that I will have more to read from you soon. ;] 100words, perhaps?

  3. Skye Turner September 1, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Sorry I’m late on this, I meant to comment sooner! I like to read your blog because in real life you arent as free with your thoughts, or words rather. Sometimes I have no idea what you’re really thinking or how you feel because you don’t always tell us, so it’s interesting to read about that here! This is also the reason that I sometimes do not want to read your blog, because I feel like I am getting to know Jen From The Internet before I truly know JenIRL. But i’ll keep reading anyway. :]

Leave a Reply

