and then i’ll brush, and brush, and brush, and brush my hair

1 Jul

Sitting down and writing something I want other people to read is hard. This is why I have ignored this blog for a while. This is also why I have never really sent any of my writings out into the world to be published by a company that publishes things. Fear of rejection is a big part of this. But there are other parts, too. Embarrassment. (Does that fall under fear?) Laziness. Lack of motivation. (Does that fall under laziness?) Also, I really don’t know what to do. That’s, like, ignorance and stupidity. My reasons for neglecting this blog, however, are mostly laziness and… Well, laziness. I’m too lazy to work to write something I want people to read. I like when writing is fun, and I’m not trying to impress anyone. That’s what I’m trying here, kind of. I’m just blogging for blogging’s sake. I’m also blogging, because I’d been summoned to by Matty Dumpling. (That is not his real name.)

I’m sick. I have a cold. I had a cold last week, and then I got another one. They sort of overlapped. If this has happened to me before, I was too young to know the difference. Now that I’m older and smarter, I know that I’m on my second of two colds in the past two weeks. I like to tell people this, because it is an interesting fact, and so they don’t think I have an immune system so weak, it takes over seven days to show any signs of recovery. I don’t know when I became so defensive of my immune system. Shouldn’t it be the one defending me?

Wow. That was a good one. I normally would let you figure that out for yourself, but since I’m on my second cold in two weeks, my head is feeling very puffy and distant, and I am making myself laugh too much… huh? Nothing makes sense anymore.

Matty, I’m still working at work. They want to teach me to do things that are important now. I can sense that this is the very beginning of the story where parents look to their children who wonder why their mama, who is so smart and talented, got stuck behind a desk doing something she never really wanted to do, but sort of fell into, got promoted and comfortable, and stayed. And they’re like, “Mama, but you went to a prestigious high school, and you graduated from college after six years with a bachelor of arts in English. Why are you working behind a desk at a car dealership?” And Mama will sigh, say she doesn’t know and that she wants better for her children, and she’ll get it seared into their little minds that boys and girls should follow their dreams and be whatever they want to be when they grow up.

2 Responses to “and then i’ll brush, and brush, and brush, and brush my hair”

  1. Matty Dumpling (not his real name) July 6, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Really? I can just summon people to write in their blogs? I never knew. Will I have to summon you once a day in August, or can I do a single month-long summon?

    What’s your ideal job? Pretend there were no limitations, pretend the economy is awesome, pretend money is no object — what are you doing? If your answer is “I don’t know,” ask yourself what you want from your ideal job. Respect / recognition / fame? Money? Power? Helping other people? If you know what motivates you, you can start to narrow it down. Once you’ve figured it out, the job you’re in is just a jumping-off point, and you won’t be stuck anywhere because you’ll be following your dreams instead of just advising other people to do that. No worries! (This would make a good blog topic, hint hint.)

    Get better, and I liked your immune system joke.

    • jenibo July 16, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

      I will save this idea for some time in August when I don’t know what to write! I like it a lot.

Leave a Reply

