those morning glories aren’t lined up

18 Aug

I’ve been debating whether or not to post another short story here. For some reason, whenever I post stories online, I feel like I’m giving them away. I don’t really want to give them away. Okay. I’ve just now decided that I’ll ask you (Chris, Scott, Matt, Daniel, and whoever else visits my blog) if reading another short story would be something you’re interested in. If you’d rather I talk about cars or hot girls, please let me know. And if you have something else you’d like me to write about, by all means, share your ideas! I’m always struggling for topics!

In 11th grade, in beginning of the school year, I took a seat in my least favorite class of my life. Chemistry was made of everything I hated about life: Science and Math. I didn’t understand how anything could be so revolting. By the grace of God and nothing more, I passed the class with a C. I was thrilled to have gotten so far knowing absolutely nothing about the subject. But that’s not what this is about. This is about a boy. (Surprise, surprise!)
I pulled a pen from my bag and opened my notebook to a clean page. (Although I passed the class with no knowledge of Chemistry, it wasn’t because I didn’t try.) While I waited for class to start, I listened to the conversations around me. A few of my friends were talking about birthdays. It wasn’t exactly riveting, but I was entertained.
After saying the dates of a few peoples’ birthdays, this guy (my memory isn’t very clear), pointed to Jon and said, “But… I don’t know when your birthday is.”
I was sad. Jon was often overlooked.
“August 17th,” I blurted out.
Jon was impressed. I could tell. To our classmates, my exclamation meant that I cared in the romantic sort of way they’d always wanted me to care for Jon. I sort of regret that I possibly let him and everyone think so by saying that I didn’t. (That’s the way it works, right?) I hate to admit, but feel that I can now that high school happened so long ago, that all I wanted was for him to want me.

Phew. Now that I’ve confessed, I can show you another version of the same confession I posted online in May:

He treated me like a queen, practically bowing every time I entered the room. I pretended not to notice, but his hands shook when he talked to me. I hated feeling scary or that he would break.

While we were walking through Shinjuku alone, I touched his arm.

“Jon,” I said. “Let’s have an adventure!”

I looked right into his eyes and smiled big and bright, the way I’d always thought he wanted me to. He smiled back, pleased to be pleasing. Even if I knew I could never feel the same, I was determined to make him love me.

I wish we kept in contact, so I could have wished him a happy birthday yesterday. And I just want you all to know, that I’m not completely evil. He was one of my best friends. Gordo*, if you will. He just never really stepped up to the plate, you know? And I was not going to crawl back into the dugout to get him.
Well, that was a very long time ago. He probably doesn’t even remember my name. I hope he’s happy now. And, I hope that he will come to my future wedding and be happy for me, too.

* Excuse the corny fan-video, but you get the point, right?

7 Responses to “those morning glories aren’t lined up”

  1. ssunaoka August 18, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Ahh, what could have been…if only he took the bait. Sometimes guys miss out because they’re too scared to too clueless.

    Why don’t you want to give away your short stories? Are you saving them up to publish some day and sell them? Or do you mean give away in a different context?

    • jenibo August 18, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

      Hoping to publish someday, but I’m not holding my breath.

      • ssunaoka August 24, 2010 at 11:36 am #

        Send them to my sister. She does that sort of thing nowadays.

      • jenibo August 24, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

        Oh she does? That’s cool! Where does she work? I’d be embarrassed to show her my average writings!

  2. Chris K. August 19, 2010 at 3:38 am #

    u can make teen novels they are into all those “what if” stories and stuff. LOL even i get hooked :P. in my opinion, you should continue writing your short stories. from what i know..your a quiet person!!! SOOOOOOO! that means theres tons of stuff that are “mysterious” about u. lol. do eet!

    • jenibo August 19, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      hahah. Thanks Chris. I have a short story already written that I’m considering sharing. I will continue to mull it over… 🙂

  3. Matt August 20, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    Yes, give us some more short stories, please! Cars and hot girls would be fine, too. ;P

    Also, way to use the new 100words single-entry link feature! I really liked that entry when I read it, and I like it more now that I have some of the background.

Leave a Reply

