phoenix burn

19 Apr

I have a stomach ache, but at the moment, it’s giving me a break. I get stomach aches more often than most people, and I think that may have something to do with my disgust with anything to do with the most important part of the digestive system. I mean, I’m perfectly fine with eating, but whatever happens to my food after that is too gross to even think about. And I hate bathrooms. Well, just the toilet part. It grosses me out to be around those. Wow. I am weird.

Anyway, now that I’ve shared with you one of my deepest, darkest secrets, I will tell you about my day.

First, I will note that it is not particularly interesting. In fact, most people, including myself, will find it very boring. But because the sound of my typing soothes me and the quickness of my fingers make me feel, somehow, more important, I will continue.

I drove to school this afternoon. It was really sunny, so I put the visor down. I hate wearing sunglasses, so I never do, but last month, or earlier this month (I forget which), my dad made me pick a pair for him to buy for me. I haven’t worn them yet, but we’re going on a cruise this summer where there will be very white glaciers and a very shiny ocean, so I will probably wear them then. Still, I can’t see myself ever liking it. But, I digress. Where I knew there would be no policemen on a long stretch of road, I drove really fast. It was fun, but I don’t fill the tank with gas, so I felt bad when I saw how fast it was burning. I slowed to sixty and continued onward. When I have money, I’m going to buy a fast car. Only a few people know that Speed is one of the things I appreciate most in life. A couple others are Adventure and Love.
When I got to school, I went to class. I spoke when I was asked, and felt accomplished and a little more cool than I usually do. I’m not sure why. After class, I drove home, and it was still really sunny. It made me happy to think that summer is almost here, and I have so many new adventures to look forward to.

Between then and now, I had dinner and an ice cream cone. I have not had milk for many years now, and I think I may be lactose intolerant. Ice cream is normally fine, so I will try to forget about the stomach ache for the future.

In the future, I will also find a way to thank all the boys who have chosen me to be their Listener when their romantic relationships have gone sour. It bothers me, sometimes, that I have to listen to a lot of whining, but most of the time, I appreciate that I’m not the only whiner I know and that these boys choose me to be their confidante. So, if you’re reading this and you are one of those boys, don’t feel discouraged because I said you whine. Everyone whines. I whine. I’d rather you did it than not and make me regret hurting your feelings.

So, there.

Oh, I just remembered. Yesterday was Bri’s birthday. I had a shot of Goldschlager for the first time since January first, and I liked it a lot. If I drank a lot of that really fast, I’m sure I would feel something. Maybe my good day had a lot to do with my finally realizing a tastier, more desirable way to Feel Something. I know it’s not the right way to go about it, but Boldness now seems attainable.

3 Responses to “phoenix burn”

  1. ssunaoka April 20, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    how did you make it your whole life hating bathrooms? many asians are lactose intolerant so don’t feel bad about that.

    • jenibo April 20, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

      It wasn’t as bad when I was younger. I don’t know what happened for it to get to this point!

      • ssunaoka April 22, 2010 at 9:29 am #

        hmm. maybe you should just spend more time there. you know, eat dinner, blog and do homework there. that might help you get past your aversion.

Leave a Reply

